The Mothers of Plaza de Mayo

An unexpected turn of events led me to Buenos Aires. A short hop from São Paulo for a quick visit! As I had limited time, I took a taxi across the city in one direction and returned the other way at a more relaxed pace. From La Boca to La Recoleta, I had eight kilometers to meander through and enjoy Buenos Aires. The district is fairly touristy (way too much, to be honest), but I was delighted by the bright colors of La Boca. I made my way at a gentle pace, admiring the work of a garlic braider and catching locals drinking Mate in a garage filled with a motley collection of items, before losing myself among the antiques dealers in San Telmo. From narrow streets to avenues, I unwittingly arrived at Plaza de Mayo, where I was struck by the reigning hubbub. Clusters of people were gathered here and there, a group of veterans had set up camp a little further on and, in the center, a huge banner had been stretched out over several tens of meters. Plaza de Mayo is the rallying point for all types of causes, whether lost or not. Here, the Porteños demand their rights and defend their beliefs, and mothers call for justice.

Camera in hand, I ended up despite of myself in the midst of an excited crowd, where someone asked me if I had come to cover the event – The event? What event? An involuntary nod saw me swept among the journalists and cameramen. It was Thursday, and that day, as every Thursday, the Madres de la Plaza de Mayo (Mothers of Plaza de Mayo) had gathered. Ever since 30 April 1977, they have been persistently asking what has become of their lost children (I later learnt that nearly 30,000 people disappeared between 1976 and 1983). I was in prime position, just in front of the procession. Anonymous behind my camera lens, I observed these grandmothers who had never given up. They had covered their heads with a white shawl in keeping with their sign of identity. Some were determinedly gripping the banner while others, with tears in their eyes, shyly lowered their gaze. The emotion contagiously swept over me. I stayed with them for over two hours and was not left unaffected by the encounter. A lingering sadness remained in my heart as I travelled back to La Recoleta. Strangely, I ended my journey in front of the imposing eponymous graveyard. I like graveyards, with their muffled silence and the quietude it creates, the sometimes strange architecture of the graves, the silent, pensive sculptures that seem to observe passers-by. It amuses me sometimes to think that a white lady might be wandering beside me.

In less than 24 hours, Buenos Aires had left an indelible mark in my memory. I have returned several times since this occasion, and I am particularly looking forward to the next adventure, which will take me from Buenos Aires to Patagonia…

Find out more

You can find the photos by clicking below

This entry was posted in Ephémère. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mothers of Plaza de Mayo

  1. Monica Onassis says:

    I really enjoy the way you write, fantastic !!!
    You can transmit so very much, few people have this blessing.

  2. Sylvie says:

    Dear Monica, thank you so much. You will tell me more about these Mothers next time will meet in Buenos Aires.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rencontres | Las Madres de la Plaza de Mayo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Un étrange concours de circonstances me fait débarquer à Buenos Aires. Un saut de puce depuis São Paulo en coup de vent ! Le temps étant compté, c’est en taxi que je traverse la ville dans un sens pour revenir en flânant de l’autre. De la Boca à La Recoleta, huit kilomètres pour déguster Buenos Aires au grès de mes pas. Le quartier est très (soyons honnête, il l’est beaucoup trop) touristique, mais je me régale des couleurs vives de La Boca. Je déambule, admire le tresseur d’ail, surprends des buveurs de Maté dans un garage à la décoration hétéroclite, et fini par me perdre chez les antiquaires de San Telmo. De ruelles en avenues, c’est par hasard que j’arrive sur la Plaza de Mayo, la place de Mai. Je suis frappée par l’effervescence qui y règne. Des attroupements ici et là, un peu plus loin des vétérans qui ont établi leur campement, alors qu’au centre une immense banderole est déployée sur plusieurs dizaines de mètres. La Plaza de Mayo est le point de ralliement de toutes les causes, qu’elles soient perdues ou non. Les Porteños y revendiquent leurs droits et y défendent leurs convictions tandis que les mères y demandent justice.

Une rencontre inoubliable

Appareil en main, je me retrouve malgré moi au milieu d’une foule surexcitée où l’on me demande si je viens couvrir l’événement -L’événement ? Quel événement ?-. Un hochement de tête machinal me vaut d’être intégrée aux journalistes et cameramen présents.  Nous sommes jeudi, et ce jour là comme tous les jeudis, les Madres de la Plaza de Mayo se rassemblent. Sans relâche depuis le 30 avril 1977, elles demandent ce que sont devenus leurs enfants disparus (j’apprendrais plus tard que près de 30 000 personnes ont disparu entre 1976 et 1983). J’ai une place de choix, juste devant le cortège. Dans l’anonymat de l’objectif, j’observe toutes ces grands-mères qui n’ont jamais abandonné. Fidèles à leur signe de reconnaissance, elles ont recouvert leurs têtes d’un fichu blanc. Certaines agrippent avec détermination la banderole, d’autres, les larmes aux yeux, détournent pudiquement le regard. Contagieuse, l’émotion m’envahit. Je reste plus de deux heures en leur compagnie et ne ressors pas indemne de cette rencontre. Une légère tristesse persiste pendant mon retour vers La Recoleta. Étrangement, je termine ma route devant l’imposant cimetière du même nom. J’aime les cimetières, leur silence feutré et la quiétude qui s’en dégage, l’architecture parfois étrange des tombeaux, les sculptures muettes et pensives qui semblent observer les passants. Je me plais parfois à penser qu’une dame blanche erre peut-être à côté de moi.

Il aura fallu moins de 24 heures à Buenos Aires pour qu’elle laisse à jamais son empreinte dans ma mémoire. Depuis cette histoire, j’y suis retournée plusieurs fois, mais j’attends avec impatience la prochaine. Celle qui ira de Buenos Aires à la Patagonie…

SP.

Pour aller plus loin

Quelques photos ici

Cette entrée a été publiée dans Ephémère. Vous pouvez la mettre en favoris avec ce permalien.

2 réponses à Rencontres | Las Madres de la Plaza de Mayo

  1. Monica Onassis dit :

    I really enjoy the way you write, fantastic !!!
    You can transmit so very much, few people have this blessing.

  2. Sylvie dit :

    Dear Monica, thank you so much. You will tell me more about these Mothers next time will meet in Buenos Aires.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *